Ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement
et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques
Home Site Map Québec.ca E-Mail Search About the site Français

Protected Areas in Québec


What Are Protected Areas?

In December 2002, the Government of Québec adopted the Natural Heritage Conservation Act in order to contribute to the objective of safeguarding the character, diversity and integrity of Québec’s natural heritage. The definition of “protected area” set out in the Act is:

  • A geographically defined expanse of land or water established under a legal and administrative framework designed specifically to ensure the protection and maintenance of biological diversity and of related natural and cultural resources.

Since 2008, the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) has defined protected area as “a clearly defined geographical space, recognized, dedicated and managed, through legal or other effective means, to achieve the long term conservation of nature with associated ecosystem services and cultural values.”

In Québec, any territory that meets one of these definitions is considered a protected area.

Protected areas are primarily designed to preserve species and their genetic variability as well as maintaining the natural processes and ecosystems that sustain life in its various expressions.

Any activity carried out on all or a portion of a protected area must not alter its basic biological characteristics. In cases of conflict, the conservation of nature has priority.

Why Are Protected Areas Important?

In 1996, the Québec government adopted a Strategy for the Implementation of the Convention on Biological Diversity within its borders. The strategy, whose implementation is coordinated by the Minister of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change, has already outlined major objectives with respect to protected areas. Via the strategy, Québec emphasizes that protected areas are a key element in maintaining the diversity of species, ecosystems and wild genetic resources, as well as for attaining the objectives of sustainable development.

On environmental, ecological, scientific, educational, social, cultural, spiritual and economic levels, protected areas provide a wide variety of benefits.

From an ecological perspective, examples of benefits attributed to protected areas include producing oxygen, creating and protecting soil, absorbing and reducing pollutants, improving local and regional weather conditions, conserving groundwater aquifers, as well as regulating and purifying watercourses.

Protected areas are laboratories in natural environments. At any given time, they can provide us with unique data on how ecosystems function and on the species that live there. They are also a prized setting for recreational and outdoor activities that contribute to our physical and mental well-being.

In terms of economic benefits, protected areas foster the diversification of local and regional economies. They help preserve a biological potential that constitutes a renewable natural resource on which certain activities depend, such as hunting, fishing and trapping. They contribute very significantly to the tourism and ecotourism industries, which are rapidly expanding.

Moreover, protected areas currently represent a major component of sustainable forest management.

To learn more on the subject, consult the section entitled: Protected Areas in Québec - Context, Findings and Challenges for the Future (French).

Top

Québec’s Network of Protected Areas

As of December 31, 2018, Québec’s protected areas covered some 166,760 square kilometres, 10.00% of the total territory of the province. To be more precise, the network of land and freshwater protected areas extended to 161,097 square kilometres (10.65% of the territory), while 5,663 square kilometres of marine environments (3.65%) enjoy protected status. The network of marine protected areas covers 1,957 square kilometres or 1.3% of Québec’s marine environments. 11.79% of the territory covered by the Plan Nord is protected.

In all, 4,775 natural sites in Québec meet the definition of protected areas. These natural environments are regulated and managed in accordance with the following 32 legal and/or administrative designations:

  • Exceptional forest ecosystem (EFE) (three types of EFEs)
    • Old-growth forest
    • Rare forest
    • Forest sanctuary
  • Threatened or vulnerable plant species habitat
  • Wildlife habitat (eight types of habitats)
    • Aquatic bird staging area
    • White-tailed deer seclusion area
    • Threatened or vulnerable wildlife species habitat
    • Cliff bird colony
    • Island or peninsular bird colony
    • Muskrat habitat
    • Heron habitat
    • Mudflat
  • Marine park
  • Natural voluntary conservation environment
  • National Capital Commission park (Canada)
  • Canada National Park and National Park Reserve
  • Québec National Park
  • Biological sanctuary
  • Migratory bird sanctuary
  • Wildlife sanctuary
  • Aquatic reserve
  • Proposed aquatic reserve
  • Biodiversity reserve
  • Proposed biodiversity reserve
  • Québec National Park Reserve
  • Land reserved for a protected area
  • Ecological reserve
  • Proposed ecological reserve
  • National wildlife reserve
  • Recognized natural reserve
  • Man-made landscape
  • Proposed man-made landscape

Top

Government Guidelines

On June 21, 2000, the Québec government adopted principles and strategic guidelines for the purpose of providing Québec with a network of protected areas representative of its overall biological diversity and that would, in total, cover 8% of Québec’s surface area. In April 2011, the government adopted new guidelines for protected areas that set a target of 12% of the territory by 2015. Since then, it has adopted more ambitious objectives to achieve the international goals outlined in Aichi Target 11 of the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity Strategic Plan for Biodiversity 2011-2020.

Consequently, in launching the Plan Nord on April 8, 2015, Québec committed to reaching a target of 20% of the Plan Nord’s territory by 2020, including at least 12% in the boreal forest north of the 49th parallel. Through these objectives and the implementation of a strategy adapted to southern Québec’s regional characteristics, Québec is on track for reaching the international target of 17% of land and freshwater protected areas by 2020.

In its Maritime Strategy, and consistent with Aichi Target 11 of the Convention on Biological Diversity, the Québec government has also committed to reaching the international marine environment target by working in collaboration and consultation with the federal government to establish a representative network of protected areas covering at least 10% of the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence.

Through these guidelines, the government acknowledges the importance and benefits of protected areas for all of Québec on ecological, economic and social levels. By adopting objectives and measures with a view to expanding the current network of protected areas, it is focusing its efforts on preserving representative samples of all biodiversity, be it terrestrial, aquatic, estuarial or marine. It also targets the preservation of fragile or exceptional environments as well as the habitats of threatened or vulnerable species. The government intends to encourage participation by the major stakeholders and organizations concerned by the strategy on protected areas. Native communities will also be asked to participate.

Top

The Ecological Reference Framework

The Ecological Reference Framework is the scientific basis used to define Québec’s biological diversity. In the context where protected areas must be representative of biodiversity, the Ministère has developed a methodology for defining what constitutes Québec’s biodiversity according to various levels of perception and for planning future interventions for the representation of biodiversity in Québec.

To highlight the nature, diversity and spatial distribution of ecosystems, the Ecological Reference Framework relies on a geographical approach where the territory is delineated based on ecological reasoning, which is itself set within a larger North American perspective in order to facilitate dialogue among ecological land and resource management stakeholders. This framework is therefore a tool that can be shared by all stakeholders concerned.

To learn more on the subject, consult the following page:

  • Québec’s Ecological Reference Framework (French)

Back to Biodiversity


Return to the top

Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs Bandeau du ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement, de la Faune et des Parcs
Accueil Plan du site Pour nous joindre Portail gouvernemental A propos du site Recherche English

Les aires protégées au Québec


Qu’est-ce qu’une aire protégée?

En décembre 2002, le gouvernement du Québec adoptait la Loi sur la conservation du patrimoine naturel (LCPN) dans le but de concourir à l'objectif de sauvegarder le caractère, la diversité et l'intégrité du patrimoine naturel du Québec. Dans cette loi, on entend par aire protégée :

  • un territoire, en milieu terrestre ou aquatique, géographiquement délimitée, dont l'encadrement juridique et l'administration visent spécifiquement à assurer la protection et le maintien de la diversité biologique et des ressources naturelles et culturelles associées ».

L'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN) définit depuis 2008 une aire protégée comme « Un espace géographique clairement défini, reconnu, consacré et géré, par tout moyen efficace, juridique ou autre, afin d’assurer à long terme la conservation de la nature ainsi que les services écosystémiques et les valeurs culturelles qui lui sont associés ».

Tout territoire qui répond à l’une ou l’autre de ces définitions est considéré à titre d’aire protégée au Québec.

Une aire protégée vise d’abord l’atteinte d’objectifs de conservation des espèces et de leur variabilité génétique et du maintien des processus naturels et des écosystèmes qui entretiennent la vie et ses diverses expressions.

Toute activité ayant cours sur le territoire ou sur une portion de territoire d’une aire protégée ne doit pas altérer le caractère biologique essentiel de l’aire protégée. En cas de conflit, la conservation de la nature est prioritaire.

Pourquoi les aires protégées sont-elles importantes?

En 1996, le gouvernement du Québec adoptait une Stratégie de mise en œuvre de la Convention sur la diversité biologique sur son territoire. Cette stratégie dont le ministre du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs coordonne la réalisation fixe déjà de grands objectifs liés aux aires protégées. Le Québec souligne ainsi que les aires protégées constituent l’un des éléments fondamentaux pour le maintien de la diversité des espèces, des écosystèmes et des ressources génétiques sauvages ainsi que pour l’atteinte d’objectifs de développement durable.

Les aires protégées apportent une grande variété de bénéfices sur les plans environnemental, écologique, scientifique, éducatif, social, culturel, spirituel et économique.

Sur le plan écologique, la production d’oxygène, la création et la protection des sols, l’absorption et la réduction des polluants, l’amélioration des conditions climatiques locales et régionales, la conservation des nappes aquifères, la régularisation et la purification des cours d’eau sont des exemples des bénéfices attribués aux aires protégées.

Les aires protégées sont des laboratoires en milieu naturel. Elles permettent en tout temps d’obtenir des données uniques sur le fonctionnement des écosystèmes et les espèces. Elles sont aussi des lieux par excellence pour la récréation de plein air, favorisant un bien-être physique et mental.

Sur le plan économique, les aires protégées favorisent la diversification des économies locales et régionales. Elles contribuent à sauvegarder un potentiel biologique qui constitue une ressource naturelle renouvelable permettant le maintien d’activités, telles que la chasse, la pêche et le piégeage. De façon très significative, elles soutiennent l’industrie touristique et l’industrie écotouristique, qui sont en plein essor.

De plus, les aires protégées représentent actuellement une des constituantes importantes de la gestion durable des forêts.

Afin d’en savoir davantage, vous pouvez consulter Les aires protégées au Québec - Contexte, constats et enjeux pour l’avenir.

Haut

Le réseau des aires protégées au Québec

Le Québec compte près de 2 400 sites naturels qui répondent à la définition d’une aire protégée. L’ensemble de ces milieux naturels sont réglementés et gérés en fonction de 23 désignations juridiques ou administratives différentes. Il s’agit de :

  1. Écosystème forestier exceptionnel (3 types d'EFE)

    • Forêt ancienne

    • Forêt rare

    • Forêt refuge

  2. Habitat d’une espèce floristique menacée ou vulnérable

  3. Habitat faunique (8 types d'habitats)

    • Aire de concentration d’oiseaux aquatiques

    • Aire de confinement du cerf de Virginie

    • Habitat d’une espèce faunique menacée ou vulnérable

    • Colonie d’oiseaux en falaise

    • Colonie d’oiseaux sur une Île ou une presqu’Île

    • Habitat du rat musqué

    • Héronnière

    • Vasière

  4. Milieu marin protégé

  5. Milieu naturel de conservation volontaire

  6. Parc de la Commission de la capitale nationale (Canada)

  7. Parc national et réserve de parc national du Canada

  8. Parc national du Québec

  9. Refuge biologique

  10. Refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs

  11. Refuge faunique

  12. Réserve aquatique

  13. Réserve aquatique projetée

  14. Réserve de biodiversité

  15. Réserve de biodiversité projetée

  16. Réserve de parc national du Québec

  17. Réserve de territoire pour fin d'aire protégée

  18. Réserve écologique

  19. Réserve écologique projetée

  20. Réserve nationale de faune

  21. Réserve naturelle reconnue

  22. Paysage humanisé

  23. Paysage humanisé projeté

Les orientations gouvernementales

Le 21 juin 2000, le gouvernement du Québec adoptait des principes et des orientations stratégiques en vue de doter le Québec d’un réseau d’aires protégées représentatif de l’ensemble de sa diversité biologique qui couvrirait une superficie totale de l’ordre de 8 % du territoire.

Par ces orientations, le gouvernement reconnaît l’importance et les bénéfices des aires protégées sur les plans écologique, économique et social pour l’ensemble du Québec. En adoptant des objectifs et des mesures en vue de l’expansion du réseau actuel des aires protégées, il veillera à axer ses efforts sur la sauvegarde d’échantillons représentatifs de toute la diversité biologique, tant terrestre, aquatique, estuarienne que marine, et il s’intéressera également à la préservation des milieux fragiles ou exceptionnels ainsi qu’aux habitats d’espèces menacées ou vulnérables. Le gouvernement entend mettre à contribution les principaux intervenants et les organismes concernés par la stratégie sur les aires protégées. La participation des communautés autochtones est aussi sollicitée.

Afin d’en savoir davantage, vous pouvez consulter le Cadre d’orientation en vue d’une stratégie québécoise.

Haut

Un cadre écologique de référence

Le cadre écologique de référence constitue l’assise scientifique retenue pour définir la diversité biologique du Québec. Dans le contexte où les aires protégées doivent être représentatives de la biodiversité, le ministère de l’Environnement a élaboré une méthodologie qui permet de définir ce en quoi consiste cette biodiversité à divers niveaux de perception et de planifier les interventions futures pour la représentation de la diversité biologique du Québec.

Pour connaître la nature, la diversité et la répartition spatiale des écosystèmes, le cadre écologique de référence choisit une approche géographique dans laquelle le territoire est découpé selon une logique écologique, elle-même inscrite dans une perspective nord-américaine, pour faciliter les échanges en gestion écologique du territoire et des ressources. Ce cadre représente ainsi un outil partageable par tous les intervenants concernés.

Afin d’en savoir davantage, vous pouvez consulter les documents

Informations de référence (en vente aux Publications du Québec)

Retour à Biodiversité - Aires protégées et aires de conservation


Barre de navigation

| Accueil | Plan du site | Accessibilité | Pour nous joindre | Quoi de neuf? | Sites d'intérêt | Recherche | Où trouver? |

| Accès à l'information | Politique de confidentialité | Réalisation du site | À propos du site | Abonnement aux fils RSSAbonnement |


Gouvernement du Québec
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2002